Skip to content

Annnnd…we’re back!

July 20, 2015

It’s been a long time: welcome back any and all reading this. Since we last met I’ve been off writing another blog/book, False Steps: The Space Race as it Might Have Been, and the last little while has been spent revving up for a science fiction novel. In honor of the Passing Strangeness book being published (finally!) however, I felt it was time to dust things off here and start writing about what old and weird corners of history I’ve encountered since the last post here. Feel free to take a peek at the book’s webpage, visit the sister site linked above, poke around in the archives, or just scroll down a bit to read what may become the first essay of Passing Strangeness, vol. 2.

Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Gleason permalink
    September 3, 2015 12:17 PM

    Good to have the blog come alive again!

    Any chance of a print version of your book? It would make a good Christmas present for my encyclopaedic-brained brother who likes collecting obscure random facts.

    • Paul Drye permalink*
      September 3, 2015 7:01 PM

      Thank you, Michael! In all likelihood, electronic form is what it will be for the foreseeable future. I’ve looked at print-on-demand, but I find that they require a little too much time and money for my taste — I have 24 hours a day and I begrudge the ones where I don’t get to write!

      • Michael Gleason permalink
        September 7, 2015 5:45 AM

        As near as I can tell, Amazon.com’s CreateSpace only requires you to upload a PDF and set a price, and it’s printed on-demand; you don’t pay for printing, you just collect a commission from every sale. Looks easy and cheap: http://www.forbes.com/sites/deborahljacobs/2014/04/25/how-to-self-publish-your-book-through-amazon/.

        I also know a couple people who have published books, and I could ask them if there’s an easy/cheap way to do it if you’re interested.

        • Paul Drye permalink*
          September 7, 2015 10:24 AM

          That would actually be very useful, thank you. I see that my contact info is not showing in the sidebar for some reason, so feel free to send them to pauldrye@sympatico.ca if you’d prefer to not talk back and forth by comment.

          • Michael Gleason permalink
            September 9, 2015 5:11 PM

            Just contacted four people who I know have written/published books; I know at least one of them also has a lot of connections in writing circles, so if she doesn’t know an easy way, she probably knows someone who does.

            I gave them the link to this comment thread and your email address.

    • Michael Gleason permalink
      September 10, 2015 3:33 PM

      Got some comments:

      First:

      “Createspace is reasonably easy, but there is a lot of back-and-forthing and you check your proofs for errors and then upload it one last (ha!) time. From what I understand, though, it’s definitely the easiest out of the options.”

      Since you’ve already published in e-book form, you’ve probably pretty much got the process of checking proofs for errors done. BTW, she has a blog mostly focussing on her writing experience at wrgingell.com.

      Second:

      “I’ve never published a work outside of an anthology and someone else took care of the printing for that. But I have gotten a bound, book form of my first draft for my novel through CreateSpace and it was inexpensive and easy to do.

      “It’s easy to edit and mess around with, too, regardless of whether or not you’re looking to publish or just get proof copies.”

      Third:

      “Printing a book (whether with CreateSpace, Lulu, or another option) is quite easy and relatively painless. Marketing and selling, however, are far different ballgames.”

      Hope this helps.

    • Michael Gleason permalink
      September 10, 2015 3:55 PM

      Another response:

      “Sorry it took me a bit to respond. My response basically echos some of the others though. I published through createspace it’s relatively easy and also quite inexpensive. They give you the option on whether you want to spend money or go the free route, you can choose to proof read online or buy inexpensive paperback proof copies of your book. I haven’t used Lulu but a friend of mine has and he liked it. I’m unfamiliar with any others.”

      • Paul Drye permalink*
        September 10, 2015 6:35 PM

        Thank you, Michael. Between this and the previous comment you posted this is food for thought. I’ll check into these recommendations and see how they go.

        • Michael Gleason permalink
          September 11, 2015 8:39 AM

          Great! If you do release a print version, if you post something on the blog, I will eventually see it.

        • Michael Gleason permalink
          September 11, 2015 5:14 PM

          And one more comment:

          “The Createspace website takes you through it more comprehensively and easily than probably any of us could do- it’s VERY easy and VERY intuitive. Probably the best place to start.”

Leave a Reply

